logo

Find LGBTQ-Friendly Wedding Vendors

Wedding Catering in 22180

Lynn
6/5/16
Categories: Catering
4.2
Quality of Service: 4.0
Responsiveness: 4.5
Professionalism: 4.5
Value: 4.0
Flexibility: 4.0
Very workable with your menu and budget.
Purple Onion Catering Company responded with the following comments:
We are so glad to be part of your special day, and we will make it memorable; It will be a great spring wedding!
Amy
10/19/13
Categories: Catering
4.2
Quality of Service: 4.5
Responsiveness: 3.0
Professionalism: 4.5
Value: 4.0
Flexibility: 5.0
Purple Onion had EXCELLENT food - our guests could not say enough great things about the food and decor. Our event coordinator was very nice and creative - she was flexible to meet with and had great ideas to share. Sometimes it was difficult to get a response back during the busy wedding season, but ultimately, we had everything we needed and the event was a huge success. The cost of service was very high (but on par with other similar vendors). Overall, a great experience; we just wish the cost had been a bit less.
User2085071

Categories: Catering
4.2
Quality of Service: 5.0
Responsiveness: 3.0
Professionalism: 4.0
Value: 4.0
Flexibility: 5.0
Purple Onion was solid for our wedding. The food was great, and everything from the tent to the silverware looked awesome. At times it was difficult to get an answer to questions or updated price quotes, which could be frustrating at times, but in the end everything turned out beautifully. It was also very convenient to have a one stop shop for everything you could ever need to put a wedding together, which also means you have one point of contact for all the various moving parts. It is almost like getting a pseudo-wedding planner as well as a caterer.
Mary Kate
2/23/13
Categories: Catering
4.0
Quality of Service: 4.0
Responsiveness: 4.0
Professionalism: 4.0
Value: 4.0
Flexibility: 4.0
Food was delicious and they made special arrangements for allergenic needs. Communication was thorough and the end result was well with-in my original vision. A little bit pricey for the budget-mindful bride, but worth it in the end.
User2964223

Categories: Catering
3.7
Quality of Service: 4.5
Responsiveness: 2.0
Professionalism: 4.0
Value: 4.0
Flexibility: 4.0
The food was perfect, hot, timely, plenty. They will let you bring your own alcohol and work with you on any outside the box ideas (e.g. we traded the wedding cake for an ice cream bar). Communication though needs to be improved. Sometimes it took weeks for my contact person to get back to me after multiple phone calls and emails. For the modern bride definitely not workable, was getting really nervous toward the end when our contact would not return any calls or emails.
Purple Onion Catering Company responded with the following comments:
You have spoken and we have listened! Because of the unprecedented growth this past wedding season we were not able to keep up with all of the requests coming our way. We have added assistants for our talented event designers in the hopes of keeping up with this fast paced business. We will, of course, continue to provide the excellent food and innovative presentations at all of our events.
Natasha
6/7/14
Categories: Catering
3.5
Quality of Service: 3.0
Responsiveness: 4.0
Professionalism: 3.0
Value: 3.0
Flexibility: 4.5
The food is fantastic, but the management seems to over promise and under deliver. We asked that an hors d'oeuvre try be left for the bridal party and they assured us it would happen...then comes wedding day and our entire bridal party arrives famished and there's nothing left for us to snack on. During dinner, one of the waiters said there were no champagne flutes...and then after the bride pulled out the contract on her phone they suddenly magically discovered that there were in fact flutes. Another disappointment was that they lost the grooms parents champagne glasses that they used for their wedding. I would recommend them for their food- but be very, very, very specific about logistics because they do not excel at this.
Cicely
4/8/11
Categories: Catering
3.4
Quality of Service: 4.5
Responsiveness: 2.5
Professionalism: 2.0
Value: 3.5
Flexibility: 4.5
Let me be clear-the FOOD created by the Purple Onion Catering Company is incredible. That cannot be disputed. We looked at about 4 caterers and Purple Onion's food was miles beyond the rest. That being said, we found Joanie a challenge to work with. We did not feel like valued clients. We felt like an afterthought. Having incredible food was important to us, and we feel like we sacrificed customer service for good food. Joanie was verbally abusive to the catering staff in front of our guests, which was uncalled for and inappropriate, considering the catering staff did an AMAZING job. Joanie even put our coordinator to work setting up the recpetion area, so she was unable to do her job as a coordinator. There were also last minute cost additions that should have been flagged and discussed earlier. All in all I would still highly recommend the Purple Onion for their food and service quality, but would recommend a different catering coordinator/manager.
Jenny
5/20/17
Categories: Catering
3.2
Quality of Service: 3.0
Responsiveness: 2.0
Professionalism: 3.0
Value: 4.0
Flexibility: 4.0
First let me say that the overall quality of of food was great. My biggest issues come from responsiveness and organization. 3 days before my wedding I receive an email that they need space to set up a pop-up kitchen in my house, out of sight. Luckily we have a partially unfinished basement, but this is something that should have been discussed at prior meetings. What if we didn't have space? My mom also made all the tablecloths for the wedding, and we provided the chairs and tables. The only things purple onion provided was the bar table. In prior meetings I was given the bar measurements for the tablecloth and told it would be put up on stilts to be proper bar height, and the bartender would have table in back of them for prep. That did not happen. The bartender only had 1 regular table. It was not raised, so the tablecloth was far too big. They also had no back prep table, but luckily we had a spare, and another tablecloth, that they were able to use. Before the event started they went over the timeframe, and we agreed to move things up a bit which was great. However, as the bride I was not looking at a clock. We were suppose to cut the cake around 7:30-7:45, it was after 8 until I realized what time it was and the event ended at 9. Naively I assumed that the event planner would be my time keeper and let me know when it was time to move to dessert. There were also times during our food, we only had small plates for our reception, that there would be no plates available for our guests. We then had to track a server down to refill the plates. Again, this is something I would expect the main event planner to be overseeing. They manage the event and the servers / bartender serve the food / drinks. Lastly, they left a coffee pot at my house. No big deal but we called them the Monday after our wedding, and they said they would send someone to pick it up Tuesday. No one came. It finally left over a week later after my event.
User6491401

Categories: Catering
3.2
Quality of Service: 5.0
Responsiveness: 1.0
Professionalism: 3.0
Value: 2.0
Flexibility: 5.0
People loved the food. Several people came up to us during the wedding to say how good the food was. In that respect, they were the perfect choice. HOWEVER, they were not responsive in any way whatsoever. They were super responsive until we paid the deposit and once we paid the deposit, communication became incredibly challenging. It was incredibly stressful to be planning a wedding and wondering if your caterer is actually going to show up or if you should have a backup plan. It took me emailing and calling multiple times to get any response. Many of my questions went unanswered, especially when it came to the increases in cost. I would have appreciated knowing if certain silverware would cost more when I picked them out rather than receiving the bill later. I asked questions and told them that after I received the answer, they could run my credit card for the second payment. My questions were never answered and they ran my credit card anyways. I didn't receive a contract until shortly before my wedding, despite my many requests (mainly because I wanted to know if I had any recourse in case they didn't show up- they were that uncommunicative). While the food was excellent, I'm not sure if it was worth the stress or worry I went through beforehand.
Purple Onion Catering Company responded with the following comments:
We are happy to see that all the food came out just perfect. However, we would like to speak with you about your overall experience with us, we take reviews very seriously and we want you, as a client, to have a memorable event and experience with us. Since your settings as set as private we cannot contact you, we would appreciate if you contact Margot, the owner, at 703.631.0050, she would be glad to go over your concern and experience. Thank you for your honest review, we hope to hear from you soon! -CF
Sarah
10/22/17
Categories: Catering
2.5
Quality of Service: 2.5
Responsiveness: 2.0
Professionalism: 2.0
Value: 4.0
Flexibility: 2.0
This catering company was the biggest stressor of my wedding planning experience. I was required to use my venue's caterer, which I assumed would be fine. The caterer I signed up with ended up going out of business before my wedding took place, and the venue signed on with Purple Onion as a replacement. I was excited, as Purple Onion is a higher quality catering company. I was told that they had agreed to HONOR MY ORIGINAL CONTRACT, so I didn't have to worry about my cost or inclusions changing just because the caterer did. The shadiness started at our tasting. First I was annoyed because I felt like we should have been consulted about what we were interested in tasting. Then, the saleswoman, Margaret, told us that they had lots of other options to choose from...but we couldn't taste them. If this is the biggest bill we have, we should be able to taste what we're buying. This was all pretty bad, but then she really did it when she very clearly tweaked our original contract to fit her bottom line better. She started telling me all these things were going to cost extra. Things we paid for IN OUR ORIGINAL CONTRACT. I walked out of that tasting absolutely furious. And it didn't stop there. She nickel and dimed me every chance she could, insisting on $3 a person for apple cider and an additional $9 per person for vegetarian and vegan guests, even though their food cost would be much lower than those eating meat. In the end, I imagine the venue ate the cost so I would get what was promised to me, which I personally think is terrible. The food we had at our wedding was delicious. Everyone raved about it. But I'm sure you can get delicious food from honest people, and that is what I would recommend to others. Purple Onion's saleswoman is sneaky and dishonest. For this reason, I would not recommend anyone doing business with them.
Maurice
4/27/13
Categories: Catering
1.8
Quality of Service: 2.0
Responsiveness: 1.5
Professionalism: 1.5
Value: 2.0
Flexibility: 2.0
Pros: -Professional wait staff - treated everyone wonderfully Cons: -Bill continued to change after signing contract -Poor communication - Prior to signing contract, responses were prompt -Unprofessional management - owner became upset after being notified, in a professional email, that we were not happy with the service We were pleased with the wait staff, the food and presentation on our big day. Due to our overall experience; however, we are unable to provide a favorable review for the full service received. After meeting our contact, Alison, we worked on the proposal and she seemed to understand our desires. Once we signed the contract, communication became sporadic. Then there was an attempt to add 2 more staff and a rental increase on the 'final bill' (adding over $1K), 2 weeks before the event. It took several conversations to adjust the bill. In the end, the attendees on the invoice decreased, but the bill increased! Monday after our wedding we were told that we would be charged over $100 more because the staff stayed over 15 mins (which we were unaware of, and did not agree to). We spoke to one of the owners, Margot Jones. She found that we were charged twice for a delivery. We were refunded the overcharged portion, but were never provided an itemized list of equipment charges, nor offered any form of apology. At the end of the conversation, Margot changed. She said that we threatened her (by sending an email stating that we wanted to discuss our issues before posting a review). She made no concessions on the bill and condescendingly added that we were a 'young couple' and should have more compliments for our contact. We certainly are not the only couple that feels, after spending over $10K for services, you should be afforded a modicum of respect if you have any issues. Margot Jones and Purple Onion appear to disagree. We encourage you to look elsewhere if you want your catering experience to be better than what was just described.
Didier
6/1/13
Categories: Catering
1.2
Quality of Service: 4.0
Responsiveness: 2.0
Professionalism: 0.0
Value: 0.0
Flexibility: 0.0
By far the most unprofessional, and worst vendor I have ever had the horror of dealing with. No notes were taken during our tasting, so none of the requests we made were taken into consideration. The food was cold for the head two table and ours. The staff was RUDE! 10% of my guests told me they were treated poorly (without me asking) the list goes on and on. I wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy!!
1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
Catering
What event services do you provide?
Clean Up, Delivery, Set Up
What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cake, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres, Plated, Server(s), Stations, Tastings
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American, Asian, Chinese, French, Italian, Mediterranean, Mexican, Southern, Spanish
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Nut Free, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Signature Cocktail(s)
Which of the following items can you provide?
Chairs, Tables
Which of the following items can you provide?
Barware, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
<
>

Contact Vendor

* required fields